2022 NFL Honors — Who won the leagues biggest awards?

The NFL held its annual awards show, hosted by Keegan-Michael Key, on Thursday at the YouTube Theater at the SoFi Entertainment District in Inglewood, California, right by the site of Super Bowl LVI. The Los Angeles Rams (12-5) will play the Cincinnati Bengals (10-7) at SoFit Stadium on Sunday (6:30 p.m. ET, NBC).

Along with MVP, the NFL’s Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, the Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year, the Coach of the Year and the Comeback Player of the Year are also being named on Thursday night.

Here’s a look at who took home all the awards and why:

Defensive Player of the Year

T.J. Watt, OLB, Pittsburgh Steelers: Despite missing two full games and parts of several others due to injury, Watt finally captured his first DPOY award after capping off an historic season with 22.5 sacks, tying Michael Strahan’s 2002 single-season sack record in the final regular-season game. It was a record-setting year from the beginning, when Watt became the NFL’s highest-paid defensive player mere days before the season opener. He earned every penny as a game-wrecking pass rusher, including a big performance in the Steelers’ first meeting with the Baltimore Ravens, in which he sacked quarterback Lamar Jackson 3.5 times and affected Jackson’s throw on the would-be, game-winning 2-point conversion. “He is a game changer and a game wrecker,” quarterback Ben Roethlisberger said during the season. “To be a literal game changer on defense is something completely special, and he should be recognized. I don’t know who else is the Defensive Player of the Year other than that guy. I’m sure there are other candidates, I just don’t know. But he should absolutely get MVP votes as well because that’s what kind of a player he is.” — Brooke Pryor

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Ja’Marr Chase, WR, Cincinnati Bengals: This shouldn’t be much of a surprise. When the Bengals drafted Chase with the fifth overall pick, he said he wanted to break all of Cincinnati’s team records. Sure enough, he turned in arguably one of the best season by a wide receiver in franchise history. He set Cincinnati’s team record for most receiving yards in a single game (266) and a single season (1,455), hauling in 81 receptions for an 18.0 yards per reception average. He became the first Bengals player to have multiple 200-yard games in the same season and blasted through Justin Jefferson’s record for most receiving yards by a rookie in the Super Bowl era. The former LSU standout is also the first rookie to have multiple 100-yard games in a single postseason. Cincinnati wanted an explosive playmaker when the front office drafted him over some of the other options, including former Oregon tackle Penei Sewell. Instead, the Bengals got someone who transformed their offense and lifted them to their first Super Bowl in 33 years. — Ben Baby

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Micah Parsons, LB, Dallas Cowboys: Parsons is the first Cowboy to win defensive rookie of the year after a season that saw him set the team’s rookie record with 13 sacks, which was third most by a rookie since sacks became an official stat in 1982. Parsons, the Cowboys’ first-round pick, was credited with 84 tackles (64 solo), three forced fumbles and three pass deflections. The team credited Parsons with 12 tackles for loss and 42 quarterback pressures, as well. He was a nightmare wherever he lined up. Of his 901 snaps credited to him by the team, he lined up as a linebacker 498 times and a defensive lineman 374 times. Because of his versatility, coordinator Dan Quinn was able to create mismatches that helped the Cowboys go from allowing the most points in franchise history (473) in 2020 to leading the league in takeaways (34). Parsons was named to the Pro Bowl and became the first rookie defender in team history to be named a first-team All-Pro. In 2016, Dak Prescott was named the NFL’s offensive rookie of the year. — Todd Archer

Comeback Player of the Year

Joe Burrow, QB, Cincinnati Bengals: Burrow earned the Comeback Player of the Year after a strong second season. He bounced back from a knee injury that ended his rookie season to lead the Bengals to their first playoff berth since 2015. What’s more remarkable is that Burrow did not miss any time after tearing his left ACL and MCL on Nov. 22, 2020, against Washington. He was there for the beginning of offseason OTAs and was fully cleared for the start of training camp. He completed 70.4% of his passes for 4,611 yards, 34 touchdown passes and 14 interceptions. — Ben Baby

Coach of the Year

Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans: The Titans managed to finish as the top seed in the AFC despite having to suit up an NFL record 91 different players on game day this season. The list of players that missed time included premier players such as Derrick Henry, Julio Jones, A.J. Brown and Bud Dupree. Losing Henry in Week 8 could have sent the Titans in a downward spiral, but Tennessee didn’t waver from its run-first identity and found ways to score points without key offensive players such as Henry, Brown and Jones. Vrabel challenged the rest of the roster to step up down the stretch. They responded with a 6-3 record without Henry, their most valuable player on offense. Under Vrabel, the Titans only suffered back-to-back defeats once and Vrabel led Tennessee to wins over the Buffalo Bills, Kansas City Chiefs and the Super Bowl-bound Los Angeles Rams en route to the No. 1 seed. — Turron Davenport

Source: Read Full Article