Lewis Hamilton clinches pole for Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

Advantage Hamilton! Reigning world champion clinches pole at Imola ahead of Red Bull pair Sergio Perez and Max Verstappen as Briton looks to cement lead over Dutch title rival ahead of Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

  • Sir Lewis Hamilton has qualified on pole for the Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix 
  • The seven-time world champion got the better of the two Red Bulls in qualifying 
  • Max Verstappen begins the race from the second row, qualifying in third
  • Sergio Perez got the better of Verstappen and will start next to Hamilton

Sir Lewis Hamilton put himself on pole for the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Imola – the Briton’s 99th time at the front at the start of a race in his remarkable career.

But to the surprise of many Red Bull’s Sergio Perez, second fastest, outqualified Max Verstappen in the same Red Bull. Verstappen, who had far from a clean lap, was only third best. Charles Leclerc was fourth in the Ferrari.

Valtteri Bottas, in the second Mercedes, was only eighth best.

Sir Lewis Hamilton has clinched pole ahead of Sunday’s Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix in Imola

The 36-year-old clocked in quicker than his Red Bull rivals to start at the front of the grid 

Yuki Tsunoda had a big smash at the Variante Alta chicane in his AlphaTauri that delayed the first session. The Japanese driver, a rookie, has a lot to educate himself about. He is young – just 20 – and is on a steep learning curve.

Briton George Russell was 12th quickest for Williams, beating his team-mate Nicholas Latifi (14th) yet again.

Carlos Sainz (11th) of Ferrari and Sebastian Vettel (13th) also fell out at this stage, along with Fernando Alonso (15th) – big names axed earlier than they wished.

Red Bull’s Sergio Perez will start on the front row alongside Hamilton after a strong Q3

The Red Bull and Mercedes drivers share a joke after an impressive qualifying performance

Max Verstappen had a poor day’s qualifying and will begin Sunday’s race from third position

Valtteri Bottas, meanwhile, had a day to forget after qualifying in a lowly eighth position

AlphaTauri were dealt a blow after rookie Yuki Tsunoda went into the wall on Turn 15

Hamilton and Mercedes stood for a minute’s silence for Prince Philip following his death


1. Sir Lewis Hamilton

2. Sergio Perez

3. Max Verstappen

4. Charles Leclerc

5. Pierre Gasly

6. Daniel Ricciardo

7. Lando Norris

8. Valtteri Bottas

9. Estaban Ocon.

10. Lance Stroll 

Source: Read Full Article