Spanish Grand Prix: When is it, what time does it start, session times and schedule

Formula One returns to mainland Europe this weekend as the rescheduled Spanish Grand Prix takes place at Barcelona’s Catalunya circuit, with Red Bull arriving as the team in form following Max Verstappen’s victory last weekend.

The final race of F1’s second triple-header takes place in Spain, where temperatures will be high once again after two scorching weekends at Silverstone, which could play right into Red Bull’s hands in their championship battle with Mercedes.

The high temperatures and softer tyres meant that both Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas struggled to keep their tyres in check at Silverstone, with Verstappen taking full advantage to convert a fourth-place start into the first non-Mercedes victory of the season.

Download the new Independent Premium app

Sharing the full story, not just the headlines

Barcelona’s demanding track surface combined with the 30-plus degree Celsius temperature could spell disaster for Mercedes, although Pirelli have reverted back to the harder selection of tyres that were used earlier in the season.

Hamilton will hope to get back to winning ways after taking three straight wins before Verstappen’s victory, and the six-time world champion at least knows he will leave Spain with the lead in the drivers’ standings no matter what, with closest challenger Verstappen a hefty 30 points behind.

Here’s everything you need to know for the Spanish Grand Prix this weekend.

When is it?

The Spanish Grand Prix takes place across 14 – 16 August 2020.

What time does each session start?


Free practice 1: 10am – 11:30pm BST

Free practice 2: 2pm – 3:30pm BST


Free practice 3: 11am – 12pm BST

Qualifying: 2pm – 3pm BST


Race: 2:10pm – 4:10pm BST

How can I watch it?

All European races will be held behind closed doors, meaning that the only way fans will be able to see the action is on television.

In the UK, Sky Sports continue to hold the exclusive rights for F1, with Channel 4 only able to show the British Grand Prix live as they are restricted to highlights coverage the rest of the year.

If you’re not a Sky customer you can purchase a NOWTV Day Pass here to watch without a subscription.

Here’s how Sky and Channel 4 plan to show the Spanish Grand Prix:


Free practice 1: 10am – 11:50m BST – (Sky Sports F1)

Free practice 2: 1:45pm – 3:45pm BST (Sky Sports F1)


Free practice 3: 10:45am – 12:10pm BST (Sky Sports F1)

Qualifying: 1pm – 3:30pm BST (Sky Sports F1)


Race: 12:30pm – 5pm BST (Sky Sports F1) + 12:30pm – 4pm BST (Sky Sports Main Event)

Highlights: 6:30pm – 9pm BST (Channel 4), 8pm – 9pm BST (Sky Sports F1)

We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content.

Driver changes

Sergio Perez is back in the Racing Point after missing the last two races due to coronavirus, meaning he returns to replace Nico Hulkenberg for the Spanish Grand Prix and beyond.

Source: Read Full Article