Bad boy back from booze ban

Wallaby bad boy Marika Koroibete’s booze ban has lasted just a week with the superstar winger recalled for Saturday’s Bledisloe Cup rematch with the All Blacks Eden Park.

Jordan Petaia has made way for Koroibete, one of three players stood down from last week’s game for drinking alcohol in their hotel room, and been omitted from the 23 altogether.

Andrew Kellaway, who scored his maiden test try last week, has held his spot on the other wing.

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has also backed his young halves combination of Tate McDermott and Noah Lolesio while recalling Lachlan Swinton, nine months after being sent off on debut against the Kiwis.

Lolesio had a horror kicking night, converting just one of four tries last weekend and missing three of four penalties as well.

Veteran Matt To’omua has been elevated to inside centre for the must-win match at Eden Park, while Matt Philip starts in the second row.

Noah Lolesio had a horror kicking night in the first Test. Picture: Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty ImagesSource:Getty Images

Halfback Nic White is also set for his first appearance for the Wallabies in 2021 after recovering from a knee injury.

The Wallabies are out to end a 35-year losing streak at Eden Park and build on three late tries that resulted in a 33-25 opening defeat at the same venue last week.

“Eden Park is a place that most teams fear, but we’re excited to get another crack after last weekend’s disappointment,” Rennie said.

“To beat New Zealand, you have to win the collisions and be clinical for 80 minutes, and we didn’t do that.

“We’ve got a lot more in us and we’ll show that on Saturday night.”

Matt To’omua is back in the starting side for the Wallabies. Picture: Phil Walter/Getty ImagesSource:Getty Images

Wallabies team to play New Zealand at Eden Park

1. James Slipper (104 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (13 Tests)

3. Allan Alaalatoa (47 Tests)

4. Darcy Swain (4 Tests)

5. Matt Philip (13 Tests)

6. Lachlan Swinton (2 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (109 Tests)

8. Rob Valetini (8 Tests)

9. Tate McDermott (6 Tests)

10. Noah Lolesio (6 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (37 Tests)

12. Matt To’omua (58 Tests)

13. Hunter Paisami (10 Tests)

14. Andrew Kellaway (3 Tests)

15. Tom Banks (15 Tests)


16. Jordan Uelese (14 Tests)

17. Scott Sio (68 Tests)

18. Taniela Tupou (29 Tests)

19. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (29 Tests)

20. Harry Wilson (9 Tests)

21. Nic White (37 Tests)

22. Len Ikitau (3 Tests)

23. Reece Hodge (47 Tests)

Source: Read Full Article